The Pillowcase Dress

I love the simplicity of a dress.  They’re so easy and versatile.  And what could be more simple than a pillowcase dress?  I’ve been wanting to make one for quite awhile, so when I came across this sweet set of pillowcases during my last thrifting expedition I thought I could sew up a perfect summer dress for Delly.

The dress is simple to put together which is why the style is so popular.  It’s basically just a casing around the top and armholes.  Measurements don’t need to be exact,which is right up my alley.  Although next time I will trim the sides of the pillowcase a bit, so the bodice is slimmer and add bias tape around the arms for a more finished look.  I left the the full width of the pillowcase and it’s a bit large for Delly, but I guess this way it will fit her for quite awhile.

It’s a perfect lightweight summery outfit.  Now if we could only get some consistent sunshine here in the northwest, she could actually wear it!

There are dozens of tutorials and inspirations available.  Some of my favorites include these by Aesthetic NestPrudent Baby and The Mother Huddle.

Leave a Reply

