kcwc day 4 – basic boy pants

 

This is my first time participating in KCWC although I’ve been wanting to for awhile.  I just never seem to get in gear.  To be honest, I almost missed it again.  But, I knew I had to start sewing when I saw that elsie marley was using Dana’s Basic Kids Pants in her pre-kcwc countdown.  I love Dana’s tutorials, many of them have been on my to do list, including these pants.  So it was time to start sewing.

I have never sewn pants before, nor had I sewn anything for my son.  So I guess this post has a lot of firsts in it!  I ended up using her pattern as is.  My son is wearing 18-24m sizes right now, but when I attempted to draft my own pattern it was pretty much the same, so I just went with hers.  I increased the seam allowance to 1/2 in. to slim the pants a little and it worked perfectly.  I added pockets too and I love them!  They really finish the pants nicely.

The fabric is a home decor weight that I bought at Joann’s years ago.  But I liked the stripes and thought it looked kinda boyish.  I made a little mistake when cutting the pattern because I didn’t notice the VERY subtle difference between the right and wrong side of the fabric.  Sooo, I ended up cutting the pattern twice and maybe in the future I will sew another pair with a smaller seam allowance when he gets a little bigger.  I used some left over plaid to line the pockets.  The pattern leaves plenty of length in the pants so hems can be let down as your kiddo grows.  I thought I got the hem at the right measurement, but I was little off, so I’ll redo that shortly.  In the meantime he’s sporting a rolled cuff.

 

Here’s the pocket facing.  It’s always a fun touch to mix up the fabrics a little bit, it makes it more interesting.

I love these, I think they turned out great!  I’ll re-hem and we’ll be good to go.  Tell me that hair isn’t awesome.



Leave a Reply

