Vintage Sheet to Pretty Twirling Dress

Admittedly, I am a newbie sewist and I am learning along the way.  I am absolutely one of those people who sees something and says, “I could totally do that”.  Never mind that I’ve never sewn, knitted (insert any craft here).  I can figure it out.  Usually this involves lots of trial and error, a trip or two to JoAnn’s, constant approval seeking critiques from my husband and an end result that looks kinda sorta the way I was hoping.

But not this time.  This time I feel like I got it right, and I’m pretty excited about it.  Of course there are still some techniques to improve on, but we’ll get to that later.

The Twirl Dress

I think this dress was meant to be.  Within a week I found this beautiful dress that inspired me AND I happened upon an amazing fabric score.  I picked up a super cool printed sheet at a rummage sale…for $ .50!  I know, amazing.  I have always been so envious of the fabric deals other people find and now I have one of my own!  But, most importantly I found the time to sit down and make the dress.

Inspiration Dress:  www.joules.com

www.joules.com

I didn’t follow a pattern, I traced the outline of an existing dress and added seam allowances.  I had trouble figuring out how to sew in the lining and how to use elastic at the waist to make it easier to get in and out of.  But, I think next time I will add a zipper to the side seam, I just couldn’t make the elastic work the way I wanted.  I will also add bias tape to the arms and neck opening to give it a more finished look.

But for now, I’m very happy with the dress.  My daughter loves it and it has excellent twirl capabilities!

4 thoughts on “Vintage Sheet to Pretty Twirling Dress

  1. Pingback: Junking Jackpot | kerry axley

Comments are closed.