Junking Jackpot

I don’t get to poke around garage sales and antique stores as often as I like.  So when I can find the time, I try to make the most of it.  Last month, I found myself in a pinch.  One of my fav annual rummage sales was scheduled for Fri. & Sat., and of course we already had plans for the weekend, so Friday was the day.  The problem was that I had to take both of my kiddos, ages 3 and 1.  Yeah, not ideal…at all.

But I had a plan.  It included one stroller (which I ditched half way through), a lot of snacks (which I ran out of) and we started in the kid section (new toys first!).  Even with this plan, I found that I was the crazy lady with the kids, spouting lots of apologies as I awkwardly trudged through the crowd.  But, I was determined and nothing was going to get in the way of me finding some killer deals.  We made it through in record time and I scored some of my best deals yet!

I don’t even know where to start.  I was giddy with excitement when I found these vintage patterns.  10 cents each!  Are you kidding me?  Yes, I will take them all, are there any more???  And the vintage linens, I only wish I had more time to go through them.  The printed sheet has already been turned into The Twirl Dress and that vintage pillowcase was destined to be a simple pillowcase dress.  I love the antler candleholders which will be having a date with gold spray paint very soon.  And that darling frame with the engraved tin matte will be getting an update too.  All in all I am very happy with my loot.  I even found my daughter “reading” the words in her new Charlie Brown dictionaries, be still my heart.

Now If I can get my butt in gear, maybe I can sew up one of these cuties for Vintage May over at Craftiness is Not Optional.  Hmm, I think I want to start with that cute shorts jumper in the top left.

One thought on “Junking Jackpot

  1. Pingback: The Pillowcase Dress | kerry axley

Comments are closed.