Skirts, skirts, skirts

So now that it is finally summer around here, I thought I should finish up some sewing before this short season ends.   So I scoured my favorite blogs and Pinterest in search of something fun to make and came across these adorable Simple Skirts from Made.  These have been on my list for awhile, which is ridiculous considering how easy they are to make!

Seriously these can be whipped out in an hour…if you have that much uninterrupted time.  Which I don’t, so it took two evenings.  I want to make like a hundred of these.  They are so cute, they are easy and Delly loves them.

For my first attempt I made a simple single layer skirt using this adorable purple kitty cat print.  It’s been in my stash for awhile and I new Delly would love it.  I love Dana’s tip about top-stitching around the top of the elastic casing to make the waist stand out.  I will be doing this again for sure.

I also made a double layer skirt using some yellow gingham and checkered print fabric I picked up at a rummage sale.  This fabric has a really nice drape and it looks wonderful even after a day with a three year old.  This has quickly become my favorite skirt.  Not only for the cuteness factor, but because I finally got the nerve to try out my new serger on this project.  And I fell in love.  It is amazing, it makes the skirt look even better.  The serger seriously makes my little homemade hobby look professional.  I LOVE it!  It still scares me a little, but I’m trying out some different things to see what it can do and get more comfortable with it.

So, there you have it, my version of a simple skirt.  I’m looking forward to making a fall version with corduroy or chambray.

