Just Girly Enough

When my sweet baby girl was born 3 years ago, I wanted her room to be feminine but not overly girly. While I love the color pink, I’m not a big fan of the all pink all the time for girls.  So I bring you the Just Girly Enough room (that my daughter happens to love).

I found some paper butterflies (which are no longer available) from Pottery Barn Kids.  But they were kind of pricey and they seemed easy enough to make with scrapbooking paper.  See my tutorial for making them.  By starting with the largest size at the bottom and smaller toward the top, it gives the impression that they are flying away.  Love!  I saved one to use at the top of the vintage beveled mirror, it reminds me of the bluebirds in Cinderella flying with her dress in their beaks.

I also made this scalloped ruffled bunting with her name.  This was super simple to make.  I traced half of one of our dinner plates on some cute shabby chic fabric, stenciled the letters using fabric paint, sewed the front and back of the scallops together then sewed a ruffle across the top.

Other personal touches include this amazing zebra pixel art that my husband did in high school, his baby shoes, sentimental photographs and a lovely photo album I received at my baby shower.  And I LOVE these pink poodle bookends that I randomly found at a garden center.  I used all kinds of pregnancy excuses to justify this purchase to my husband.  They are just to cute, they had to come home with me.

Several months after she was born, I finally got around to sewing this box pleat valance for her room.  I thought the brown polka dot fabric gave the room some balance since the furniture is two-toned.  The little bows make it sweet but not two girly.  I tried the bunting under the window too, but learned quickly that my growing babe could reach it and pull it down.  You might also notice that a couple of the lower butterflies are also missing.  The taller she got, the faster the butterflies disappeared.  So sad.

I wanted to show this room now, so I could savor the memory of her sweet arrival and the home we made for her.  As she is now approaching 3 and a half, I am starting to think about what her new big girl room is going to look like.  I guess this time she will have some input on the decor, but I am looking forward to it because she is such an imaginative little girl.

One thought on “Just Girly Enough

  1. Pingback: Paper Butterfly Decor: a Tutorial | kerry axley

Comments are closed.